January 4, 2020

Ennis vs Castlebar

Ennis took part in a friendly match against Castlebar earlier today in Ennis. The result was a win for Castlebar. A return match is planned.

Ennis 1.5-4.5 Castlebar
1. R Quinn 1-0 J McDonnell
2. G Casey 0.5-0.5 R Senzel
3. D Murphy 0-1 M Senzel
4. J O’Sullivan 0-1 D Baird
5. P Timlin 0-1 J Bourke
6. J Cronin 0-1 M O’Connell

January 2, 2020

Ennis League 2020

The Ennis chess club league 2020 is due to start in the coming weeks. John Cassidy has asked for anyone interested in playing in the club league who hasn’t already contacted him to get in touch on 087 2495913.

December 16, 2019

Munster League latest results

Ennis A played a double header against Sarsfields in Limerick yesterday. A win and a draw meant that Ennis went top of the table after these results. Sarsfields defaulted on top board.

Sarsfields 2.5-2.5 Ennis A
1. w/o 0-1 R Quinn
2. P Kiely 0-1 N Larter
3. M O’Grady 1-0 M O’Donnell
4. F Noonan 1-0 J Cassidy
5. D Clancy 0.5-0.5 K Higgins

Ennis A 4-1 Sarsfields
1. R Quinn 1-0 w/o
2. K Higgins 1-0 P Kiely
3. N Larter 0.5-0.5 M O’Grady
4. M O’Donnell 0.5-0.5 F Noonan
5. J Cassidy 1-0 D Clancy

Ennis B also had matches yesterday, going down to 2 narrow losses in what’s proving to be a very competitive division this year.

Cork B 3-2 Ennis B
1. S Lawrence 1-0 B Farragher
2. B Foran 0.5-0.5 L Daros
3. D O’Kelly 0-1 D Murphy
4. D O’Mahony 0.5-0.5 J O’Sullivan
5. M Watkins 1-0 P Timlin

Ennis B 2-3 Charleville
1. B Farragher 0.5-0.5 PJ Rea
2. L Daros 0-1 A King
3. D Murphy 1-0 K Cole
4. J O’Sullivan 0.5-0.5 A Kilgore
5. P Timlin 0-1 P Meskell

November 24, 2019

Munster League 2019/2020

Rounds 1 and 2 of the Munster League Divisions 1 and 2 took place earlier today in Charleville. Ennis A drew our match against CCYMS and defeated Limerick B while Ennis B defeated Tralee but lost to newcomers Galway.

Ennis A 2.5-2.5 CCYMS
1. R Quinn 1-0 K Moynihan
2. T Dunne 0.5-0.5 V Andrick
3. N Larter 0-1 P O’Donovan
4. M O’Donnell 1-0 D Geaney-O’Brien
5. J Cassidy 0-1 P Dowdall

Ennis B 3-2 Tralee
1. G Casey 1-0 P O’Sullivan
2. J Dunne 0-1 P Shanahan
3. L Daros 1-0 G Hussey
4. D Murphy 0-1 A Osman
5. J O’Sullivan 1-0 S Turabi

Limerick B 0.5-4.5 Ennis A
1. D Fanning 0-1 R Quinn
2. A O’Sullivan 0-1 T Dunne
3. R O’Brien 0.5-0.5 M O’Donnell
4. P Foenander 0-1 N Larter
5. T Dineen 0-1 J Cassidy

Galway 3.5-1.5 Ennis B
1. D Rodriguez 1-0 G Casey
2. J Rawlinson 1-0 J Dunne
3. A Finnerty 0-1 L Daros
4. J Blackwell 1-0 D Murphy
5. Z Dragic 0.5-0.5 J O’Sullivan

November 2, 2019

Kanyamarala wins Limerick Open

Well done to Tarun Kanyamarala on winning the Limerick Open last weekend scoring 5.5 from 6 and finishing ahead of FM Henry Li and FM Gabriel Voiteanu in joint second-third. First and second prize in the U1400 went to two Cork players, Atharva Paibir and Akshay Ranade. Ennis’ Dylan Murphy finished in third. Full results at Limerick Chess Club.

October 15, 2019

Limerick Open

This years Limerick Open takes place in the South Court Hotel, Limerick from October 26-28. Contact John Cassidy 087-2495913. Online entry is available via the Irish Chess Union website.

September 7, 2019

Results of Ennis Club League 2019

The results of the 2019 Ennis Club League are in. Yours truly won the event on 5 from 5. There were 8 players tied from 2nd to 9th, all on 3.5 points. These were Nick Larter, John Cassidy, Kieran O’Brien, Aaron Daly, Dylan Murphy, Azzizbek Shamsiddinov, Lukasz Daros and James O’Sullivan. Full list of results available here.

Thanks to John Cassidy for organising the League and Gerry Graham for controlling. Thanks also all who took part. It’s the first time in years there has been a club league and it was great to see so many participating.

August 12, 2019

Murphy wins Irish Championships

Well done to FM Conor Murphy who won the Irish Championships at the weekend on an excellent score of 7.5/9. A last round win over FM Conor O’Donnell meant he finished in outright first, a half point ahead of IM Alex Lopez and IM Sam Collins who finished in joint 2nd/3rd.

Brays Eric Bennett won the Major, Kevin Fitzpatrick won the Challengers and Ben Cullen won the Weekday Open. The quickplay events were won by IM Alex Lopez (Rapid) and Tarun Kanyamarala (Blitz).

August 3, 2019

2019 Irish Championships

The 2019 Irish Chess Championships gets underway in Dublin this weekend. There is a strong field competing for the Championship and there is coverage at the Irish Chess Union website. There are various side events running alongside the main event which continues until the 11th August.

June 8, 2019

Galway Rapidplay and Club League Update

A number of Ennis chessplayers travelled to the Galway Rapidplay today. Well done to Lukasz Daros who scored 5 out of 7 and won a share of the U1600 grading prize.

John Cassidy advises there was an error in the draw for Round 5 of the club league so the draw has been redone. None of the matches already played are affected but there are some changes to the pairings. Updated Round 5 draw