Vicas wins Ennis Open

Well done to Marijus Vicas who became the first untitled player to win the Ennis Congress outright since Valentine Kalinins in 2013. He started with five wins out of five and a last round draw was enough to take the title. FM Conor O’Donnell and FM Colm Daly finished in joint 2nd-3rd on five points. Theo Wallace won the U1400 starting with a draw before five successive wins gave him the title. Akshay Ranade and Hari Prasad finished a half point behind in joint 2md-3rd place.

Gradng prizes in the Open were won by Rafael Ninan Renji, Jana Solomatina and Con Kirby. Grading prizes in the Under 1400 were won by Tadhg Holland, Zoran Dragic,Sam Krawec and Scott Reilly. It was great to see so many promising juniors winning grading prizes.

Thanks to the West County Hotel for such a nice venue and sponsorship and also to Rochfords pharmacy and Clare County Council for their sponsorship. Thanks to Gerry and Mel Graham and Neal Kirby and everyone else who helped make the tournament a success, and especially main organiser John Cassidy.

Tags: ,

2 Comments to “Vicas wins Ennis Open”

  1. Hi, had to go back before prize giving so how can we arrange payment for grading prize U1400?
    Zoran Dragic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: