Archive for ‘Ennis chess club’

January 19, 2019

Round 2 – Ennis League

The draw for round 2 of the club league is now available here.

December 20, 2018

Christmas blitz 2018

There was a blitz tournament in O’Keefes last Tuesday for the Christmas season. Players were split into two groups, with the winner of each group meeting in the final. Yours truly won the tournament, drawing my game with James O’Sullivan but winning the rest. Nick Larter finished second. I’ll post full results when I get them.

December 9, 2018

Round 1 – Ennis Club League

It’s been a while since the club ran a league competition and John Cassidy is organising one for the 2018-2019 season. The draw for Round 1 has been made and is available here .

May 13, 2018

3 way tie for first in Ennis Open

The Ennis Open finished today in a 3 way tie for first. Winner for the last two years IM Lucian Costin-Miron finished tied for first place with his compatriot FM Daniel Hristodescu and Anthony Bourached of Trinity College. All three finished on 5 points.
Two Ennis players tied for first in the U1400 with last years winner Azzizbek Shamsiddinov sharing first place with young Dylan Murphy who had an excellent tournament to finish on 5 points and get his first top place finish in a major tournament (probably the first of many!). Results and some games are linked to from the Irish Chess Union website.

January 21, 2018

Latest Munster League Results

A full round of matches in the Munster League today. CCYMS showed why they are strong contenders for the title this season with a comprehensive win over Ennis A.

Ennis A 1.5-3.5 CCYMS
1 R Quinn 0.5-0.5 K Moynihan
2 N Larter 0-1 P O’Donovan
3 M Buckley 0-1 G McCarthy
4 K O’Brien 1-0 P Dowdall
5 G Casey 0-1 T O’Leary

In the second match with Charleville we took the match points, a draw by Nick Larter and win by Maurice Buckley in the last 2 games to finish secured the points.

Charleville 1-4 Ennis A
1 PJ Rea 0-1 R Quinn
2 K Cole 0.5-0.5 N Larter
3 E Barry 0-1 M Buckley
4 A King 0.5-0.5 K O’Brien
5 P Meskell 0-1 G Casey

The B team had two close matches but didn’t manage any match points in the end. James O’Sullivan was Ennis B’s top scorer on the day with 1.5 from 2.

Limerick B 3-2 Ennis B
1 D Fanning 0-1 A Coll
2 P Foenander 1-0 L Daros
3 T Dineen 0.5-0.5 C McGorrian
4 H Prasad 0.5-0.5 J O’Sullivan
5 C McElwain 1-0 A Ingram

Ennis B 1.5-3.5 Tralee
1 B Farragher 0-1 P Shanahan
2 L Daros 0-1 P O’Sullivan
3 C McGorrian 0.5-0.5 G Hussey
4 J O’Sullivan 1-0 J Keane
5 A Ingram 0-1 A Osman

May 14, 2017

Miron wins Ennis Open

Lucian Miron won the Ennis Open for a second year in the row. He coasted home fairly comfortably in the end, 5 wins in a row meant a last round draw was all that was needed to take first place. Daniel Hristodorescu and Colm Daly tied for second/third.


Lucian Miron won the Open

The u1400 section was won by Ennis player Azzizbek Shamsiddinov with another Ennis player Aidan Coll tied in second through to fourth with Jonathan Kiely and Atanas Kouhtev.


Azzizbek Shamsiddinov won the U1400 section

Full results table on the Irish Chess Union website.

May 12, 2017

Ennis Congress Underway

The Ennis Congress gets underway shortly in the West County Hotel. With upwards of 100 entrants and counting it looks like being one of the largest yet. The top 2 boards in the Open and the top board in the U1400 are being broadcast live on the ICU website.

March 13, 2017

Ennis Open 2017

Details of this years Ennis Open have been received from John Cassidy. The event takes place in the usual venue of the West County Hotel from May 12th to 14th. There are two sections an Open and an U1400. Entry fee is €35 for adults and €25 for juniors. Contact John Cassidy on 087 2495913 for more info. Who will be added to the Champions List this year?

Flier for the tournament courtesy of Philip Foenander – ENNIS CHESS CONGRESS 2017

Online entry is available at the Irish Chess Union website.

May 16, 2016

Protected: Miron wins Ennis Open

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:

May 14, 2016

Protected: Ennis Congress Round 3

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below: