Archive for August, 2017

August 19, 2017

Upcoming Local Events

WFM Diana Mirza is giving a simultaneous display at the Bridge Centre, St. Marys Road, Galway on Saturday 26th August. Entry is €10 and proceeds go to help fund Dianas trip to the World Youth Chess Championships in Uruguay in September.Contact Brendan Buckley ( for more information. A fundraising page has been set up for Diana for anyone who wishes to contribute.

The Munster Chess Championships takes place in Ennis from the 22nd to 24th September in the West County Hotel. The Senior Championship is a 5 round FIDE rated event while the U1500 Joe Browne Cup is a 6 rounder. Contact John Cassidy on 087 2495913 for more information.

The Limerick Open takes place in the Kilmurry Lodge, Castletroy from 28th to the 30th October. There are two sections, the Philip Hogarty Open and the U1400 Major. As usual John Cassidy is the contact for this tournament.

August 6, 2017

Lopez and Short win Irish Championships

The Irish Senior Championships finished earlier today and there were joint winners as IM Alex Astaneh Lopez and FM Philip Short tied for first on 7 from 9. Well done to both. Philips score had a symmetry about it as he started a little slowly with two draws before an excellent run of 5 wins and then finished with two draws to make a IM norm as well as tie for first. Alex Lopez put together a nice run of his own winning his last 4 games to take a share of first also.

20170806_174837 - Copy

Joint Winners – Alex Lopez and Philip Short

In the other placings FM Conor O’Donnell finished third on 6.5 and GM Alex Baburin finished fourth on 6. I finished in joint tenth to twelfth place on 3.5 points. I probably would have hoped to have done a little better but it was a tough tournament with a lot of hard fought games. Final standings and games are available here

The second weekender finished in a tie between IM Alvaro Valdes Escobar and David Murray. Jan Heinrich and Colm Egan finished in joint third and fourth. Grading prizes were won by Dara Moran and John Hennessy. Full results available from the Irish Chess Union website.