Posts tagged ‘Limerick Open’

November 9, 2022

Limerick Open Results

More than 100 competitors from all over Ireland and abroad took part in the Limerick Open in the West County Hotel last weekend. The tournament was run in 2 sections The Philip Hogarty Open and the Major (U1400). Both tournaments finished in a two-way tie for first which necessitated blitz playoffs to decide the champions.

In the Philip Hogarty Open, Blair Connell defeated CM Shane Melaugh in the last round to finish on 4.5/5 and he was joined by Limerick Chess Clubs James Naughton who defeated IM Oleg Gubanov to reach the same score. The blitz playoff was played at 3|2 time control and was decided on the best score from three games. The first two games were drawn and James won the third to take the title.

Both sets of players getting ready for the blitz playoff.

Philip Hogarty Open Prizewinners

1/2 J, Naughton (wins tournament in blitz playoff), B. Connell 4.5 from 5

3/4/5 K. Weih, FM R. Quinn, A. Collins 4 from 5

Grading Prizes in the Open

K. O’Brien (U1700), C O’Reilly (U1400), A. Brennan (Unrated) all 3.5 from 5

In the U1400 Ennis chess clubs Roy Marshall finished in joint first place with Gabriel Mirza both on 4.5 from 5. In the blitz playoff Gabriels experience won out as he won the first two games to take the title.

Major Prizewinners

1/2 G Mirza (wins tournament in blitz playoff), R. Marshall 4.5 from 5

3/4 S. Loughlin, S. Fitzgerald 4 from 5

Grading Prizes in the Major

A. O’Rourke, A Newaskar, A. D’Souza all 3.5 from 5

Full results and standings for both tournaments are available on

James Naughton receiving the Philip Hogarty Open Trophy from organiser John Cassidy
Blair Connell finished joint first in the Open
Gabriel Mirza receiving first prize in the Major

Roy Marshall finished joint first in the Major
November 2, 2019

Kanyamarala wins Limerick Open

Well done to Tarun Kanyamarala on winning the Limerick Open last weekend scoring 5.5 from 6 and finishing ahead of FM Henry Li and FM Gabriel Voiteanu in joint second-third. First and second prize in the U1400 went to two Cork players, Atharva Paibir and Akshay Ranade. Ennis’ Dylan Murphy finished in third. Full results at Limerick Chess Club.

October 29, 2018

Three way tie in Limerick Open

There was a three way tie for first in the Limerick Open which finished earlier today. Colm Daly, Pierluigi Piscopo and Conor O’Donnell all finished on 5 from 6. Denis Ruchko and Sean Murphy finished a half point behind. Dylan Murphy won the U1400 with five wins in a row meaning he had won the tournament before the final round was even played. James Carolan, Atharva Paibir and Eric Wang all finished on 4.5.

October 31, 2017

Limerick Open Results

The Philip Hogarty Open and the U1400 took place in Limerick last weekend. There were joint winners in both tournaments. IM Lucian Miron and FM Colm Daly won the Open on a score of 5 from 6. There were 4 players tied in third back to sixth IM Alvaro Valdes Escobar, FM Daniel Hristodescu, Aldo Hartl and Rudolf Tirziman all scored 4.5.

Andrej Kozlovs and John Dunne tied for first in the U1400 tournament on 5 from 6. Colm McElwain and Martin Kelly tied for third/fourth on 4.5.

Full details of all prizewinners and photos from the prizegiving are on the Limerick Chess Club site while full standings for both tournaments are on the Irish Chess Union site.

The European Team Championships is currently taking place in Crete. Four rounds in and Hungary are in the lead in the Open. Ireland didn’t send a team for either the Open or Womens Event this year but you can follow the tournament progress and livegames at the tournament website.

August 19, 2017

Upcoming Local Events

WFM Diana Mirza is giving a simultaneous display at the Bridge Centre, St. Marys Road, Galway on Saturday 26th August. Entry is €10 and proceeds go to help fund Dianas trip to the World Youth Chess Championships in Uruguay in September.Contact Brendan Buckley ( for more information. A fundraising page has been set up for Diana for anyone who wishes to contribute.

The Munster Chess Championships takes place in Ennis from the 22nd to 24th September in the West County Hotel. The Senior Championship is a 5 round FIDE rated event while the U1500 Joe Browne Cup is a 6 rounder. Contact John Cassidy on 087 2495913 for more information.

The Limerick Open takes place in the Kilmurry Lodge, Castletroy from 28th to the 30th October. There are two sections, the Philip Hogarty Open and the U1400 Major. As usual John Cassidy is the contact for this tournament.

November 1, 2016

Protected: Miron wins Limerick Open 2016

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below: