Archive for February 20th, 2017

February 20, 2017

Short wins Bunratty

Nigel Short retained his Bunratty Masters title over the weekend on a perfect 6 from 6 score. Both Alex Lopez and Richard Bates had a good tournament and finished in joint second /third on a score of 5. Alex Lopez was on 5 from 5 going into the last round where he had his only loss, to Nigel Short. Richard Bates lost to Alex but did have wins over 3 GMs.

Mikhail Pavlov won the Challengers, Aram Hakobyan won the Major while Eoin Callinan and Hieronymus Van DerBelt tied for first in the minor. Full list of prizewinners is on the Bunratty Chess website.